Why me PC so not fast?

Home --- Forums --- General Discussion --- Elite: Dangerous Discussion --- Why me PC so not fast?

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      SenatorFounding AngelAngel of Justice – Participating in an AI Enforcement Mission

I’ve had an issue ever since I started playing ED.  It runs beautifully on my own or with a group of about 3 or 4.  But once I get to a busy area, Quivira being a good example of this, I drop to about 18fps (normally around 40-50) and laggy.

This causes me to have to play in either private or solo otherwise I could cause all kinds of carnage in an uncontrolled Anaconda.

I’m currently in the process of upgrading, I bought a new ASRock mobo and am saving up for a new i5 CPU , then I can start slowly upgrading the rest of the PC too.  My internet conn is normally really good (iiNet) and I’ve never had any issues with it.

Tips?

Currently running:

Win 7 home
      i3-2100 @ 3.1GHZ
      8GB RAM
      AMD Radeon HD 5700

Reason for the upgrade was I tried to get a new GFX card but the mobo wouldn’t accept it.  Hence the crappy GFX card

Participant
      CenturionAngel of DeathAngel of Mercy – Participating in a AI relief mission.Angel of Justice – Participating in an AI Enforcement Mission

I only just had this same issue, while going back to LHS 3447 to sell a stored ship, about 3 days ago.
      There were about 5-6 players in the system and it slowed my frame rate down drastically, although I didn’t check it to give you an exact figure.
      It is the first time it has been an issue, and while I’m not running a beast, here are my stats:
      Win 7 64bit Ult
      Intel i7-2600 3.4ghz
      16GB RAM
      AMD Radeon HD 5700, due for an upgrade
      I also run the operating system and ED on an SSD.
      I’d call my connection…temperamental. 1233 kB/s (9.86Mpbs) while it is acting as it should, to 27.5 kB/s when a neighbour’s tree blows in the way of the radio signal.